The Chateau de Pallandt

Location

Located 30 km south of Brussels in Brabant Wallon, between Nivelles and Wavre, Chateau Pallandt is a private property owned by the same family  for more than three centuries.Le Château de Pallandt

Description and History

 The Chateau of Palandt is nestled in the Brabant Wallon, at the doorstep of Brussels, the Capital of Europe. The setting is unspoiled and privileged in the midst of a forest of over 100 ha with a beautifully landscaped garden and with century-old trees at the end of a path of beech trees overlooking ponds.

The family property where the current owner was born, has maintained its character, combining family history and at the same time adaptingto the modern world without abandoning the past. For nearly four centuries the estate has not been sold and is now in the hands of Baron and Baroness d' Hooghvorst.

Demolished and rebuilt several times, the current building was remodelled at the start of the twentieth century. The great hall with its staircase has a large gallery of portraits and family memories. The dining room with its tapestries and monumental fireplace, where breakfast is served at the large dining table, gives this house a warm and cosy atmosphere.

In the eighteenth century the ancient seigniory "WEZ" entered in to the  "Pallandt" family which took over the name from the former lord. It is this family who commissioned the park described in the famous atlas du Comte de Ferraris dated 1777.
During the early twentieth century renovation of the chateau, the grandfather of the current owner called upon the renowned French garden designer Achille Duchêne, who also restored the gardens of theChateau of Vaux-le-Vicomte in France.

In the spring, majestic rhododendrons, wild azaleas,wild blue hyacinths and lily of the valley fill the park and the woods with magical colours andwonderful scents.

 

 

 

© 2009 Chateau de Pallandt
  • | Disclaimer

Le Château de Pallandt

Situation

A 30 km au sud de Bruxelles, dans le Brabant Wallon, entre Wavre et Nivelles le château de Pallandt est une propriété privée dans la famille des propriétaires actuels depuis plus de 3 siècles.

Le Château de Pallandt

Description et Histoire

Le château de Palandt est niché dans le Brabant Wallon, aux portes de Bruxelles, Capitale de l’Europe, dans un cadre préservé et privilégié, au milieu d’une forêt de plus de 100 ha avec un parc à l’anglaise aux arbres plusieurs fois centenaires et au bout d’une avenue de hêtres surplombant des étangs.
Le château de famille, où naquit le propriétaire actuel, a conservé son caractère de domaine familial alliant l’histoire des générations et s’étant adapté au monde moderne sans renier son passé. Depuis près de 4 siècles le domaine n'a pas été vendu et est actuellement entre les mains du Baron et de la Baronne d'Hooghvorst.

Plusieurs fois démoli et reconstruit, le bâtiment actuel a été profondément remanié à l’aube du XXe siècle. Le grand hall avec sa cage d’escalier comporte une importante galerie de portraits et de souvenirs de famille. La salle à manger avec ses tapisseries et sa cheminée monumentale, où est servi le petit déjeuner à la grande table, confère à cette demeure une atmosphère chaleureuse où il fait bon s’attarder.

Au XVIIIe siècle l’ancienne seigneurie de ‘’WEZ’’ entra dans la famille « Pallandt » qui substitua son nom à l’ancienne seigneurie. C’est cette famille qui ordonna le parc qui figure dans le célèbre atlas du Comte de Ferraris de 1777.
Lors de la rénovation du début du XXe siècle, le grand père de l’actuel propriétaire fit appel au célèbre architecte de jardin Achille Duchêne, qui restaura entre autres les jardins de Vaux-le Vicomte.

Les rhododendrons, les azalées sauvages, les jacinthes bleues et le muguet emplissent au printemps le parc et les bois de couleurs féeriques et de parfums enivrants.

 

© 2009 Château de Pallandt
  • | Mentions légales